Other Recognitions & Awards

*Only these updated forms will be accepted for candidate selection

Special Recognitions
Awards are recognition that Scouts and adults are presented, when others wish to honor them for their accomplishments. Awards, for the most part, are not earned by the recipients. Awards for individuals are proposed, approved, and presented without the recipients' request or participation. Most notable of these Special Recognitions are the Boy Scout's National Heroism Awards, James E. West Endowment, the Silver Beaver Award, District Award of Merit, Scouting Veteran pins, Venturing Leadership Award, and training awards.

National Award Portal now on the web
National BSA has recently developed an on-line portal that will provide details and forms on the various awards and recognitions available. Clear here to access the portal: Awards Central

New in 2018: "The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award USA" - Find out how youth can earn this award by visiting HERE.

Council and District Recognitions
Each year council and districts recognize outstanding volunteers who go above and beyond to deliver the promise of Scouting. Recipients of council or district-specific awards are nominated by the scouting community and are decided upon by a panel of council or district volunteers. These awards are usually presented at a council or district recognition dinner. Council or District awards can include Leader or Volunteer "of the Year" Awards, Veterans Awards, and Unit Spark Plug Awards.

District Award of Merit
The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts. The award is available to any registered Scouter who renders service of an outstanding nature on the district level Click here .

Silver Beaver Award
The Silver Beaver Award is the highest award that a local council can present to a volunteer Scouter. The award is given to registered Scouters of exceptional character upon the recommendation of the local council and approval of the National Council, Boy Scouts of America, for noteworthy service to youth. Annually, the council president will appoint a Silver Beaver Award committee that will consider candidates and make recommendations.

Lifesaving and Meritorious Awards
This recognition may be given to a member of the Boy Scouts of America—Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, Venturer, or adult leader—where the evidence presented to the National Court of Honor, in accordance with prescribed regulations, shows that he or she saved or attempted to save life under circumstances that indicate heroism and risk of his or her own life. The court will give consideration to resourcefulness and to demonstrated skill in rescue methods.

Honor Medal with Crossed Palms
The Honor Medal With Crossed Palms may be awarded in exceptional cases to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated both unusual heroism and extraordinary skill or resourcefulness in saving or attempting to save life at extreme risk to self.

Honor Medal
The Honor Medal may be awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated unusual heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save life at considerable risk to self.

Heroism Award
The Heroism Award may be awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save life at minimum risk to self.

Meritorious Action Awards
May be given to a youth member or adult leader of the Boy Scouts of America where evidence presented to the National Court of Honor shows that a significant or outstanding act of service was performed. The action taken need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self but must put into practice Scouting skills and/or ideals. The awards are the Medal of Merit and the National Certificate of Merit. A Local Council Certificate of Merit is available for recognizing acts that do not qualify for national recognition but should receive some recognition.

Spirit of the Eagle Recognition
The Boy Scouts of America has created the Spirit of the Eagle Award as an honorary posthumous special recognition for a registered youth member who has lost his or her life in a tragic accident or through illness. This award is bestowed by the National Court of Honor as part of the celebration of life and this young person. The award recognizes the joy, happiness, and life-fulfilling experiences that the Scouting program made in this person's life. For more information on this recognition, contact the Council office.

Distinguished Eagle Scout Award
The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award is the highest warded presented by the National Eagle Scout Association to those who have been Eagle Scouts for 25 or more years and who have distinguished themselves in their career or public life. Service to Scouting is not necessarily an important criterion in the determination of worthiness or degree of distinction of a potential recipient. Click here for a nomination form.

Unit Leader Award of Merit
Quality unit leadership is the key to a quality unit program—and it leads to better Scout retention. Statistics show that if young people stay engaged in the program for at least five years, the BSA’s influence likely will stay with them for the rest of their lives. A quality Scouting experience will help keep Scouts in the program, and the Boy Scouts of America created the Unit Leader Award of Merit to recognize the quality unit leaders who make that happen. The Unit Leader Award of Merit replaces the Scoutmaster, Varsity Team Coach, and Venturing Crew Advisor award of merit programs. This new recognition has revised requirements and may be earned by Cubmasters as well. Click here for a form.

Venturing Leadership Award
The Venturing Leadership Award is presented by councils, areas, regions, and the BSA National Council to Venturers and adult leaders who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Venturing Code and Venturing Oath.

William H. Spurgeon Award
The William H. Spurgeon III Award is the highest recognition for individuals and organizations contributing significant leadership to the Exploring program. The award is designed for council use to recognize individuals or organizations contributing significant leadership to the Exploring program. The award is also presented regionally and nationally.

Community Organization Award
The Community Organization Award acknowledges that a adult volunteer has been recognized by another organization for service to Scouting; Non-Scouting organizations have recognition programs approved for this award. Details can be found at this Link. Examples of those organizations include Elks, Masons, VFW, and the American Legion. There are 14 in all. Once a volunteer has been recognized with one of the 14 approved awards just take documentation of having received that award such as a certificate, letter, medal, etc., to a Scout shop to purchase the square knot.

© 2018 Coastal Georgia Council, Inc. 11900 Abercorn Expressway Savannah, Georgia 31419
Phone: 912.927.7272 Fax: 912.920.4030 eMail: bsa099@scouting.org